What is NATO?

The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) is a military alliance set up in 1949. Its original members were Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Since then other countries have joined: Greece and Turkey in (1952), Germany (1955), Spain (1982), the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland (1999), Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia (2004), and Albania and Croatia (2009).

View all facts

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter