What is the European Free Trade Association?

EFTA is a free trade area comprising Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. EFTA is not a customs union, meaning that member states may negotiate bilateral trade arrangements with other countries. However, its member states have jointly concluded free trade agreements with a number of third countries.

While Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway participate in the EU’s single market as parties to the EEA agreement, Switzerland does so through a series of bilateral agreements with the EU.

View all facts

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter