What is the single market?

The single market is unified market encompassing all EU member states. Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway participate in the EU’s single market as parties to the EEA agreement, while Switzerland does so through a series of bilateral agreements with the EU.

The single market is based on the four freedoms: free movement of goods, people, services and capital between member states. It is underpinned by a single set of rules and the principle of mutual recognition of goods and services. The creation of the market is an ongoing process, especially in services.

View all facts

Sign up to our newsletter

In submitting your personal data via this form, you consent to being contacted via the details provided so that your enquiry can be responded to. A backup of your data will be held but only authorised individuals will be able to access your data. If you would like your data to be removed, please email support@thewebkitchen.co.uk.

View our latest newsletter