What are the acquis communautaire?

This terms refers to the entire body of EU law, including the treaties, legislation and international agreements that have been agreed within the EU. The acquis run to 35 chapters, covering everything from free movement of goods, services, people and capital to foreign and security policy, fisheries and taxation. Accepting the entire acquis is an ordinary condition of joining the EU and negotiations tend to be taken chapter by chapter. Negotiations are currently open with three accession countries, and Serbia for example has opened or completed talks on 12 chapters of the acquis.

View all facts

Subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter

Get a round-up of The UK in a Changing Europe’s latest analysis pieces, videos, explainers, podcasts, reports, events, infographics and more, written by the organisation’s director Anand Menon. PS his mum says it’s "quite good".

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter