What happens to the UK’s seats if we leave the EU during the Parliament?

Some of the UK’s seats will be used to address the under-representation of some member states. That means five extra MEPs for France and Spain, three for Italy and the Netherlands, two for Ireland, and one each for Austria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Poland, Romania and Slovakia. However, that only accounts for 27 seats. The remaining number of the UK’s seats will not be redistributed and the Parliament will be reduced to 705 MEPs, from 751. In anticipation of the UK leaving part-way through the Parliament, member states who are due to receive UK seats are electing reserve candidates to take their place if and when the UK leaves the EU.

For more information please read our European elections and Brexit report.

View all facts

Subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter

Get a round-up of The UK in a Changing Europe’s latest analysis pieces, videos, explainers, podcasts, reports, events, infographics and more, written by the organisation’s director Anand Menon. PS his mum says it’s "quite good".

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter