What is the Council of Ministers?

The Council of Ministers, otherwise known as Council of the European Union is made up of government ministers from each EU member state. The Council exists in many different configurations depending on the policy area under discussion.

Depending on the configuration, each member state sends the minister responsible for that policy area. The main power of the Council of Ministers is to amend and approve EU legislation together with the European Parliament.

View all facts

Subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter

Get a round-up of The UK in a Changing Europe’s latest analysis pieces, videos, explainers, podcasts, reports, events, infographics and more, written by the organisation’s director Anand Menon. PS his mum says it’s "quite good".

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter