What is the EEA?

The European Economic Area (EEA) brings EU member states and members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA—Iceland, Liechtenstien and Norway) together in the same single market. The EEA has many similarities to EU membership, but EFTA members do not have voting or representation rights, they don’t follow EU rules on agriculture and fisheries, and they are not part of the EU’s customs union. Nevertheless, they still have to make financial contributions to the EU and the rulings of the European Court of Justice are generally followed by the EFTA court, which oversees EFTA members’ implementation and application of the EEA agreement.

View all facts

Subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter

Get a round-up of The UK in a Changing Europe’s latest analysis pieces, videos, explainers, podcasts, reports, events, infographics and more, written by the organisation’s director Anand Menon. PS his mum says it’s "quite good".

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter