What is the Eurogroup?

The Eurogroup is the meeting of the finance ministers of the eurozone member states. It is thus a slightly smaller version of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council, which is the configuration of the Council of the European Union comprising the finance ministers of all 27 EU member states.

The group was formalised by the Treaty of Lisbon in 2009, and its president serves for two and a half years.

The Eurogroup has political control over the single currency – as opposed to more technocratic decisions (setting interest rates, for example) which are handled by the European Central Bank.

View all facts

Subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter

Get a round-up of The UK in a Changing Europe’s latest analysis pieces, videos, explainers, podcasts, reports, events, infographics and more, written by the organisation’s director Anand Menon. PS his mum says it’s "quite good".

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter