What is the European Central Bank?

The European Central Bank (ECB) is the overseeing central bank for the 19 EU member states that use the euro. If performs functions equivalent to those of national central banks, chiefly maintaining price stability within the euro zone.

The ECB is managed on a day-to-day basis by its Executive Board, all six of whom are elected by the European Council, including the president of the ECB, who serves an eight-year term. It is overseen by its Governing Council, which is made up of the governors of each of the central banks of the 19 euro zone member states.

View all facts

Subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter

Get a round-up of The UK in a Changing Europe’s latest analysis pieces, videos, explainers, podcasts, reports, events, infographics and more, written by the organisation’s director Anand Menon. PS his mum says it’s "quite good".

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter