What it the Exiting the European Union Committee?

The Exiting the European Union Committee is a Select Committee in the House of Commons, set up in October 2016. It was created to scrutinise the government’s activity and legislation around Brexit, and the work of the Department for Exiting the European Union.

The Chair of the committee is Hilary Benn MP, and the committee comprises 10 Conservatives, 5 Labour, 2 SNP, and 1 each of Liberal Democrat, Plaid Cymru and DUP members. Of these, 13 were supporters of the Remain campaign in the 2016 referendum and 7 were supporters of the Leave campaign.

View all facts

Subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter

Get a round-up of The UK in a Changing Europe’s latest analysis pieces, videos, explainers, podcasts, reports, events, infographics and more, written by the organisation’s director Anand Menon. PS his mum says it’s "quite good".

Sign up to our newsletter

View our latest newsletter