The authoritative source for independent research on UK-EU relations

A Changing EU

This fact was correct when it was updated on 22 Sep 2020

What is the Council of Ministers?

The Council of Ministers, otherwise known as Council of the European Union, is made up of government ministers from each EU member state. The Council exists in ten different configurations, depending on the policy area under discussion. Each member state sends the minister responsible for that policy area. The main power of the Council of Ministers is to amend and approve EU legislation together with the European Parliament. The minister from the government holding the presidency of the Council represents it in negotiations with the other institutions.

More facts you may be interested in

What is the Crown Steward and Bailiff of the Chiltern Hundreds?

29 Aug 2023

What is an interim measure (or Rule 39 order) of the European Court of Human Rights?

14 Aug 2023

What is an Autumn Statement? 

17 Nov 2022