Making social science accessible


This fact was correct when it was updated on 24 Sep 2020

What is the Schengen area?

The Schengen area is an agreement between 22 EU member states and the four countries of the European Free Trade Association to remove regular checks on the movement of people between them. In simple terms, it permits free movement between these countries. The agreement establishes common rules on the management of internal borders between members and also external borders. Temporary closures of borders is permitted in the event of emergencies, such as the coronavirus outbreak. Ireland received an opt out and is not part of the Schengen area, and nor are Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania.

More facts you may be interested in

Who are the judges of the European Court of Human Rights?

23 Feb 2024

What is fiscal headroom?

22 Nov 2023

What is non-refoulement?

15 Nov 2023

Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required