The authoritative source for independent research on UK-EU relations


Relationship with the EU

This fact was correct when it was updated on 22 Sep 2020

What is the single market?

The single market is the unified market encompassing all EU member states. Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway participate in the EU’s single market as parties to the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement, while Switzerland does so through a series of bilateral agreements with the EU. The single market is based on four freedoms: free movement of goods, people, services and capital between member states. It is underpinned by a single set of rules and the principle of mutual recognition of goods and services. The development of the market is an ongoing process, especially in services.

More facts you may be interested in

When a new country joins the EU, does free movement apply straight away?

24 Sep 2020

What is the consent procedure?

24 Sep 2020

What is Article 49?

24 Sep 2020