The UK in a Changing Europe uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. We would also like to set optional analytical cookies to help us improve the website, but we will not set optional cookies unless you accept them.

The authoritative source for independent research on UK-EU relations

A Changing EU

This fact was correct when it was updated on 21 Sep 2020

What was the European Community?

The European Community refers to the EU as it existed between 1958 and 1992. The three separate European Communities (the ECSC, Euratom and the European Economic Community – EEC) were brought together in 1967, meaning that the official name became the European Communities, although in practice most people spoke only of the EEC or the Common Market, as this had already become the most important of the three. The EEC’s dominance also meant that the practice of using the plural ‘Communities’ became increasingly uncommon outside of official documents. These names stayed unchanged through the 1970s and 1980s, although use of ‘EEC’ gradually fell into disuse, given that the Community’s remit now ranged beyond economic matters narrowly defined.

More facts you may be interested in

When a new country joins the EU, does free movement apply straight away?

24 Sep 2020

What is the consent procedure?

24 Sep 2020

What is Article 49?

24 Sep 2020