The authoritative source for independent research on UK-EU relations

Role in the World

This fact was correct when it was created on 15 Oct 2021

Which countries have nuclear warheads?

Nine countries have nuclear warheads: the USA, Russia, the UK, France, China, India, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea. These states possess a combined total of approximately 13,500 nuclear warheads. Of these, more than 90% of them belong to Russia and the USA. Roughly 9,500 warheads are in military service while the rest are due to be disassembled.

More facts you may be interested in

Is there a right to strike in the UK?

31 Aug 2022

What is the energy price cap?

16 Aug 2022

What is a windfall tax?

27 May 2022