The authoritative source for independent research on UK-EU relations


Role in the World

This fact was correct when it was updated on 21 Aug 2020

Will I need a visa to travel to the EU after Brexit?

No. From the end of the transition period, British citizens will still be able to travel for short-term visits to all 27 EU countries, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, without needing a visa. British citizens will be able to stay in the EU for 90 days in any 180-day period and be able to transit through visa free. Travel must not be for the purposes of undertaking paid work, but can be for holidays, visiting friends and family, business meetings, receiving medical treatment or undertaking short-term study or training. In future, British citizens will have to apply for authorisation to enter the EU through the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETAIS), costing €7 per adult. This system is not expected to be in operation until at least the end of 2022.

More facts you may be interested in

What is the Crown Steward and Bailiff of the Chiltern Hundreds?

29 Aug 2023

What is an interim measure (or Rule 39 order) of the European Court of Human Rights?

14 Aug 2023

What is an Autumn Statement? 

17 Nov 2022